Blackberry Development

Posted on July 24, 2009. Filed under: software development |

 

Well, I have decided to venture into the world of mobile phones and mobile development.  You are probably asking why I chose to pursue blackberry smartphones over the ever-popular and uber-sexy device known as the iPhone.  So am I, perhaps I’ll talk a bit later about my rationale behind starting with Blackberry over the Apple system.

What I do know is that it has been a very steep learning curve to even get started.  Before I venture into my rant, let me give a brief background on my technical skills.

I have been developing software for over 15 years and have a wide range of experience in all things windows and web related (at least as envisioned and presented by Microsoft).  As part of this time, I have spent several years doing embedded development and a couple of J2E projects.  I thought that I was a pretty smart guy and able to understand and figure things out fairly quickly. 

As such, my initial thoughts were that I would be able to sit down, install the IDE and API and get coding in a matter of a day, maybe two at the most.  Well, here I am at the end of the week and I have just managed to install the components necessary to develop for the Blackberry Storm. I have struggled with just about every step of the process.

It has been a very humbling experience and feel that I need to have a big piece of pie.  I have felt like the man banging his head against the wall just so that he can feel what it is like when he stops.  The past couple days have developed so much character that I’m giving it away free with every comment.

So without any further adieu, I’d like to dedicate the subsequent posts to all those people out there that feel that installation and setup of development environments is a useless waste of time that keeps you from the real job of producing quality and timely software.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Blackberry Development”

RSS Feed for Michael’s Weblog Comments RSS Feed

I know of a book you may want to take a look at. Its written, but not released yet. Covers everything you needed to get started. Even installing the tools. http://www.bbdevfundamentals.com.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

